Please or Register to create posts and topics.

Chief physician throws resident under the bus

Hello guys,

I think you're going to like this one, Lucio. So as you know I work as a resident physician and two levels above me are Chief physicians, they are like executives.

Situation

I was at a teaching meeting where we meet every morning. It was an interactive session so we were 3-4 groups of 2-3 people around the table and each group was contributing to solving the medical case presented. I was participating as I enjoy it and I don't care anymore what they think about me. I'm not afraid of making mistakes as I'm the learner. I let them deal with their fixed mindset. Suddenly, the chief physician who gave us the case, turned to the group and tell them, talking about me and says:

Chief physician: "Be careful, he's taking the lead. He's going to take your position as attending physician".

I think quick, sense the change in temperature in the room and feel people starting to look at me. I realize I have to defend (thanks PU) and I reframe with:

Me: "I'm suggesting, I'm proposing, I'm participating"

Analysis

Attending physician is the next level after the one I'm at. Once we complete our training, it's kind of difficult to find such positions. The pyramid is getting thinner near the top. In my case I have zero intention to be an attending in this organization. It's too mediocre for me. But in this case I cannot disclose it as it would be worse than saying "yes, that's my goal". So I reframed myself as a learner, which I am. I think since I've done PU, people can see that I upgraded my social intelligence so they perceive me more as a threat. That's my understanding, I might be wrong. What he did was to basically turn the group of my peers against me with the argument that in 2 years (yes in 2 years!!!) I will be taking their position. First, he's a manipulative f##k (but I already knew it). Second, that's value-taking. However, I'm proud of how I defended myself.