Please or Register to create posts and topics.

Greetings!

Hi everyone! My name is Manuel I am 27 years old, I am a medical student and I would like to specialize in psychiatry. Before I start, I wanted to clarify that English is not my mother language, but I am trying to improve it.

For a long time I have liked self-help and personal improvement, which is precisely why I want to opt for the specialty of psychiatry. The problem is that it is difficult for me to go from theory to action. I don't like the way I am right now and I know I can give much more and aspire to a better life. Where I accomplish what I propose, who don't be afraid to speak to others and defend my point of view. To be that Friend that you can count on and a man who can just go and talk to the girl he likes.

I think the first self-help book I read was about seduction hahaha. How to be an alpha Male in 2009 when I was just 15 years old. Since there I went through books that talked about how to be more sociable, how to be more assertive, how to be more motivated, until I star reading books that talks about mental health (anxiety, positive psichology, ACT) subjects mostly related to myself.

But most of the time I just accumulated knowledge without applying it in my life, which is something I would like to change. One good habit at a time. It was in this quest to improve myself that I found Lucio's page and I was delighted with his work, the way he combines scientific rigor with practice and what is applicable in real life.

I want to be a better person, improve my life in the aspects that I valueble the most and be proud of myself, and be able to help others to achieve this. I hope I can learn from Lucio and all of you, and I'd be glad to help in what I can.

Lucio Buffalmano, Kellvo and Matthew Whitewood have reacted to this post.
Lucio BuffalmanoKellvoMatthew Whitewood

A pleasure to be with you on the forum!

I've also come across too many self-help books that are too generic.