Please or Register to create posts and topics.

Being interrogated

Hey this is my first time posting on this forum. TPM has helped me a lot in terms of understanding power dynamics and a big shout out to Lucio.

Well recently a couple of incidents happened with my uncle who has an authoritative and controlling personality and is also an hypocrite. I stay at their place and he picks on me. If I tend do to a mistake he points it out and asks me questions like its an interrogation.

1.Uncle: Don't you know you should keep the knife back after using it?

Me: Silent

Uncle: Don't stand there silent answer my question.

Me: I usually do, I forgot this time.

Uncle: what is the point of keeping it back usually, you forgot it this time, yes or no?

Me: Yes I forgot, it was only a knife ( I feel it is a big win for my uncle at this point)

Uncle: If you can't remember the small things how will you remember the big and important things?

Me: With important things I'll be more careful.

Uncle: what is the guarantee you will put it back next time?

Uncle: you were either being careless or absent minded with the knife, what if I had accidentally cut myself?

Me: Neither, I forgot to keep it back. It is a what if scenario you told.

Uncle: It has happened to a few people, is there anything you can do properly.

Me: So many things.

Uncle: How can you forget to keep it back, it is a standard operating procedure. You should always follow the procedure.

2. Uncle: Why are you late for dinner?

Me: There was traffic and I got caught up.

Uncle: if you had  accounted for the traffic, you would not be late.

Me: It took longer than expected.

Uncle: why didn't you inform me you were being late.

Me: I was already on my way.

Uncle: You have no sense of responsibility, you should have known to inform me, I should not even have to tell you this.